Subscribe SYP Blog


The Scottish Youth Parliament holds elections every two years. The next elections to the Scottish Youth Parliament will take place between Monday 2nd March - Friday 13th March 2015

Vote in the 2015 SYP elections online at


How do I Vote in the SYPElex?

Young people will be able to cast their vote to elect their local MSYP between Monday 2nd March 2015 and Friday 13th March 2015.

Depending on your constituency, you will either be able to cast your vote online (see the helpful guidance below), or cast your vote by paper ballot. The voting method is decided by each local authority. Check out the guidance below to see what method your local authority is using. 

SYPElex - How to vote in your local community

Check out the helpful e-voting instructions here


SYP Elections 2015 Candidates

Candidate manifestos can be accessed by constituency at the left of this page. 

If you are standing as a candidate, please ensure you have submitted your candidate manifesto to your named election co-ordinator. Photo and video consent forms can be downloaded hereThe deadline has now passed for registering to stand as a candidate for the 2015 elections. 

The next #SYPElex candidate tweet up will take place on Friday 6th and Saturday 7th March 2015. This is a chance to get involved in discussions and use #SYPElex to share why you should be elected as an MSYP.


SYPElex Resources


Candidate Pack

If have chosen to stand as a candidate in the Scottish Youth Parliament Elections 2015, make sure you download the helpful candidate pack below.

SYP Candidate Guide


Confirmed Candidates

SYP Elections 2015 Confirmed Candidates


Promotional Materials

You can download the promotional materials below:

Elections Leaflets

Elections Poster

Phase Two Elections Leaflets

2015 Vote Leaflets

2015 Vote Poster

2015 Election Template Poster


Scottish Youth Parliament: Youth Engagement Team Booking form

The Scottish Youth Parliament Youth Engagement Team are available to support you throughout the elections process and can be booked to run sessions on a variety of topics, including the work of the Scottish Youth Parliament.

Youth Engagement Team Booking Form

You can find out more about our last election here.

Occasionally MSYPs have to stand down from their role.  In that case a by-election is held by the Local Authority. You can find out about by-elections here. 


About SYP

“The Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) represents Scotland’s young people.  Our democratically elected members, aged 14-25, listen to and recognise the issues that are most important to young people, ensuring that their voices are heard by decision makers.  We encourage all of Scotland’s young people to play their part in achieving our vision and provide a national platform for their participation in democracy.” 

The stated aim of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) is to represent and promote the views of Scotland’s young people.  In seeking to achieve this, the organisation has adopted a quasi-parliamentary structure, with a standing body of members elected on a regular basis.  The organisation seeks to promote the values of democracy, inclusion, political independence and passion. 

The work of the SYP is designed to deliver five key objectives:

  • Affecting Change: A nation that listens to the voices of its young people.
  • Diverse Representation: All of Scotland’s young people are able to participate.
  • Positive about Young People: Young people are recognised as key contributors to Scottish society.
  • Developing Leaders: Through access to opportunities and training, our young people lead the way.
  • Celebrating Democracy: A strengthened relationship between young citizens and their political structures.

Since our inception over 1000 young people have become MSYPs.