Subscribe SYP Blog

Who We Are

Our vision is of a stronger, more inclusive Scotland that empowers young people by truly involving them in the decision making process. We do this through our Members (MSYPs) who are elected young people aged between 14- 25 representing different areas and voluntary organisations from across the whole of Scotland. Every year we have at least three national meetings where we discuss issues which affect young people and try to propose new and sometimes radical solutions to these problems.

We are a young peoples parliament, designed by young people, led by young people and for the benefit of young people. The SYP is totally youth-led and all of our Trustees are 25 and under.  We listen to and recognise the issues that are most important to young people, and ensure that by representing them at a national level their voices are heard by government and formal decision makers.

We encourage all of Scotland’s young people to play their part in achieving our vision and provide a national platform for their participation in democracy. Working towards our aims, we promote the following values.


Organisational Structure


The Scottish Youth Parliament is made up of 150 young people aged 14-25 from across Scotland who represent constituencies and national voluntary organisations. We have at least two elected Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs) per Scottish Parliamentary constituency, with another 50 from national voluntary organisations. 

Board of Trustees

The Scottish Youth Parliament is governed by a Board of Trustees who meets 6 times per annum and is made up of 7 MSYPs including the Chair and Vice-Chair and up to 4 external members who act as professional advisors to the Trustees. An MSYP, who can demonstrate their commitment to the organisation at a strategic level, can submit their application to become a Trustee and are elected by MSYPs at our annual AGM held each June.


Jordan Linden MSYP - Chair

Responsibility for Portfolio Oversight and Cross Portfolio Support

Regional Portfolio for Highlands and Islands

Katie Burke MSYP - Vice Chair

Portfolio for the United Kingdom, International Matters, and Internal Communications

Regional Portfolio for North East Scotland

Amy Lee Frioli MSYP -Trustee

Portfolio for Local Authorities and Voluntary Organisations

Regional Portfolio for West Scotland and Lothian

Thomas Mair MSYP - Trustee 

Portfolio for Youth Engagement

Regional Portfolio for South Scotland

Ewan McCall MSYP - Trustee

Portfolio for Projects

Regional Portfolio for Mid Scotland and Fife

Robbie Nicoll MSYP - Trustee

Portfolio for Public Affairs

Regional Portfolio for Central Scotland and Glasgow

Kirsty McCahill MSYP - Trustee

Trustee Representing the Conveners Group on the Board


Board Meeting Minutes - 4th August 2015


Staff Team

To support the work of our MSYPs, the Scottish Youth Parliament employs a staff team based in its Edinburgh office.  Although MSYPs receive support from local workers, the SYP staff team in Edinburgh also provides support when MSYPs represent SYP in any media activity, national projects, groups and/or events.

Ben McKendrick - Chief Executive

Jamie Dunlop - Deputy Chief Executive

Campaigns and Advocacy Team

Rosy Burgess - Events and Campaigns Officer

Anna Dickens - Communications Officer

Roseanna Macdonald - Public Affairs Officer

Youth Engagement and Projects Team

Rhiannon Burney - Youth Engagement Officer

Hannah Daly - Youth Engagement Officer

Gemma MacArthur - Projects Assistant

Jennifer Bruce - Administration and Public Affairs Assistant

Samantha Flood - Finance Executive


Conveners Group

The Conveners Group is intended to co-ordinate and manage the workload of the Subject Committees. The membership is made up of the 10 Subject Committee Conveners. The SYP Vice Chair is also a non-voting member of the Group and facilitates its meetings. The Conveners Group also decides on which consultations SYP should respond to and contributes to the development of SYP’s campaigns. You can read more about the role of Subject Committees here.

Committee Convener

Culture and Media

Molly Kirby MSYP

Education and Lifelong Learning

Aqeel Ahmed MSYP


Kirsty McCahill MSYP

External Affairs

Fiona Ross MSYP

Health and Wellbeing

Martin Gallacher MSYP

Jobs and Economy

Mark Swan MSYP


Wing Yan Ng MSYP

Social Justice

Blue Bradford MSYP

Sport and Leisure

Sarah Devlin MSYP

Transport, Environment, Rural Affairs

Colleen Brown MSYP




Procedures Group

The Procedures Group is made up of up to 5 MSYPs and was set up to ensure that young people are at the heart of considering any new policies and/or amendments to processes and systems that may be presented from time to time. It is their role to represent MSYPs and bring the ideas of young people forward to our Chief Officer. The new Procedures Group will be appointed shortly.