17 June 2015

Scottish Youth Parliament Press Office 

Scottish Youth Parliament elects new young leaders

Elected young people gathered in Renfrewshire last weekend for the first National Sitting of the Scottish Youth Parliament’s new membership, where the new young leaders of the organisation were elected.

On Sunday 14th June 2015, Jordan Linden, MSYP for Uddingston and Bellshill, was elected as the Chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) at the SYP’s 57th Annual Sitting and Annual General Meeting in Renfrewshire.

Katie Burke, MSYP for North East Fife, was elected as the Vice Chair of the SYP, and the Membership also elected four new Trustees: Amy Lee Frioli MSYP for Rutherglen, Thomas Mair MSYP for Coatbridge and Chryston, Ewan McCall MSYP for Kilmarnock and Irvine Valley, and Robbie Nicoll MSYP for Angus North and Mearns.

The Scottish Youth Parliament is the democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people. Nearly 160 Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYPs), who are elected every two years, meet three times a year at National Sittings to debate policy, select campaign priorities, and host events with stakeholders and other guests.

At the Sitting, Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament elected the new Board of Trustees and Committee Conveners, who will lead the SYP over the next year. As a youth-led organisation, the AGM is a hugely significant occasion which forms the foundation of the SYP’s core values and structure, truly empowering Scotland’s young people.

Jordan Linden MSYP, Chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament, said: “It is the privilege of my life to have been elected as the Chair of the Scottish Youth Parliament. I would like to congratulate everyone who stood for election at our AGM this weekend. We have a fantastic and vibrant membership. It is a privilege to work with such inspiring colleagues who are all committed to making the voices of Scotland’s young people heard.

“We have very exciting times ahead of us and lots of hard work. I look forward to working with my fellow MSYPs to build on the organisation’s success, and lead the way towards a fairer, more equal Scotland for all.”