SYP's new Board 'well-placed to serve all of Scotland's young people'

12 July 2017



Scottish Youth Parliament Press Office


For Immediate Release



SYP’s new Board ‘well-placed to
serve all of Scotland’s young people’


The new Board of the Scottish Youth Parliament (SYP) is in a strong position to ensure the voices of all of Scotland’s young people are heard by those in power.

Three of the Board’s four Trustees hail from rural, island communities, and the two most senior positions (that of Chair and Vice Chair) are held by female MSYPs.

Taking the helm of SYP is Chair Amy Lee Fraioli, Member of the Scottish Youth Parliament (MSYP) for Rutherglen.

Amy Lee is not new to SYP, having served three years as an MSYP for Rutherglen from 2013-17, and brings with her a wealth of knowledge and experience in youth engagement. In recognition of her hard work she was presented with the ‘MSYP of the Year Award’ at SYP’s annual awards ceremony in March 2017.

Helping to raise the profile of SYP and increase engagement, she has represented the membership at a number of national and international events including meeting with the Secretary of State for Scotland in London, speaking with officials from the Government of Catalan, and meeting with the Vice Chair of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and Children and Young People's Commissioner Scotland.

SYP’s new Vice Chair is Suki Wan, MSYP for Glasgow Shettleston. Suki also served as an MSYP for two years from 2015-17, and currently serves as the sole young person on the Joint Strategic Board of the Scottish Government’s ‘Equally Safe’ programme. In this role, Suki has the responsibility of delivering young people’s perspectives on policy combating gender-based discrimination and violence.


In addition to extensive work in her constituency of Shettleston, Suki has been working alongside the Scottish Crown Prosecution Service on issues surrounding young people and sexual offending, in terms of raising awareness of young people’s rights.


Joining Amy Lee and Suki are four new Trustees: Jack Norquoy, MSYP for the Orkney Islands; Jamie Murray, MSYP for Argyll and Bute; Sonny Thomason, MSYP for the Shetland Islands; and Thomas McEachan, MSYP for Glasgow Pollock. With MSYPs from both the central belt and more remote, rural parts of Scotland, the new Board will be well-equipped to ensure the young people’s voices – regardless of geographical location – will be heard by those in positions of power.


Chair, Amy Lee, said: “I’m delighted to have been elected to lead the Scottish Youth Parliament at a very exciting time in the charity’s history. The fact that the Board is comprised of MSYPs hailing from all over Scotland – including three island-based members - is evidence that SYP continues to be diverse and representative of young people in this country.


“SYP has so much to be proud of, and I’m looking forward to getting to work to ensure the voices of Scotland’s young people are heard, loud and clear, by our decision-makers.”


Vice Chair Suki, added: “I’m excited for the time ahead as SYP’s Vice Chair, having seen the brilliant work our young people have done during my time as an MSYP over the last two years I know there is so much more to come.

“It’s important that every young person in Scotland knows they have a right to be heard, and I’m confident that with Amy Lee as our Chair, and our fantastic Trustees, this Board will ensure that this right is upheld and respected so that we can move further in our journey towards making Scotland a place where young people are listened to, taken seriously and valued.”


Notes to editor

1.    All media enquiries to Karen Keith, Communications Officer,

07729 487627/ 0131 557 0452

2.    The Scottish Youth Parliament is democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people. Their vision for Scotland is of a nation that actively listens to and values the meaningful participation of its children and young people.  SYP is grounded in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, particularly Article 12, which lays out young people’s right to be listened to on the issues that affect them, and for their views to be given weight. 

3.    The Scottish Youth Parliament is proud to be a youth-led organisation and it is important that the Board is comprised of young people from within the membership. The Board comprises a Chair, a Vice Chair, and five Trustees (one of whom will be elected from the Conveners Group at their first meeting), advised by professional external advisors.

4.    The SYP Chair, Vice Chair, and Trustees are elected annually. Elections are held at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) which takes place at the June Sitting, with the exception of the one Trustee who is elected by the Conveners’ Group.

5.    All potential candidates for election to the Board submit a written statement in advance, and their local authority or national voluntary organisation is asked to provide a reference. The elections are conducted using the Scottish STV voting system.

6. Images of the Board are available on request. Please contact our Communications Officer, Karen, on the email address given above.