Young people shine in Scottish Youth Parliament’s annual awards ceremony

27 March 2017

 Scottish Youth Parliament Press Office


For Immediate Release


Young people shine in Scottish Youth Parliament’s
 annual awards ceremony


Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament who’ve made a real difference in the lives of young people living in Scotland were honoured at the annual SYP Awards 2017 on Saturday 25 March.

The glitzy affair at Portobello Town Hall was a celebration of all the hard work and achievements of our MSYPs and Support Workers over the last 12 months, and recognised individuals who have gone above and beyond in their roles in SYP.

Taking home the top award of the night - MSYP of the Year - was Amy Lee Fraioli MSYP, who impressed the independent panel of judges with her work not only representing her constituents but supporting the efforts of her fellow MSYPs.

Helping to raise the profile of SYP and increase engagement, she has represented the membership at a number of national and international events including meeting with the Secretary of State for Scotland in London, speaking with officials from the Government of Catalan, and meeting with the Vice Chair of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child and Children and Young People's Commissioner Scotland.

Most importantly, Amy Lee has ensured that through SYP, young people are recognised as valuable members of our communities.

The person who nominated her said: “Amy Lee’s hard work, commitment and dedication to youth rights through her SYP role is unquestionable. She is our champion; a young person’s champion.”

Winning Achievement of the Year and Unsung Hero was Courtney Gemmell, who has done a power of work across North Ayrshire in making support and information on mental health more accessible for young people and those who work closely with them. 

Winning Area or Group of the Year were the Glasgow MSYPs, whose work in the development of the Glasgow Youth Council (GYC) has assisted in the expansion of GYC's membership during 2016, and increased the level of engagement between Glasgow's young people and GYC.

Winning ‘One to Watch’ was Suki Wan MSYP for Shettleston. In addition to doing extensive work in her own constituency, Suki is the sole young person on the Joint Strategic Board of the Scottish Government’s ‘Equally Safe’ programme, and she has the responsibility of delivering young people’s perspectives on policy combating gender-based discrimination and violence.

Winning ‘Communicator of the Year’ was Jamie Murray, MSYP for Argyll and Bute. Jamie wowed the judges with his activities to publicly advance the work of SYP to a wider audience. In particular, they were impressed with a dedicated website Jamie set up to keep his constituents informed of his work both locally and nationally, in addition to his monthly column which is published in the local newspaper in his hometown of Rothesay.

Winning the ‘Ros Clark Support Worker of the Year’ award was Mary Mitchell from Edinburgh. In her role as Support Worker to the Edinburgh MSYPs, Mary frequently goes above and beyond the call of duty, ensuring not only that the young people are supported, but also being their friend and a source of emotional support.


Notes to editor

  1. All media enquiries to Karen Keith, Communications Officer, 07729 487627/ 0131 557 0452
  1. The Scottish Youth Parliament is democratically elected voice of Scotland’s young people. Their vision for Scotland is of a nation that actively listens to and values the meaningful participation of its children and young people.  SYP is grounded in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, particularly Article 12, which lays out young people’s right to be listened to on the issues that affect them, and for their views to be given weight. 
  2. The SYP Awards is an annual event which takes place during the March National Sitting, and recognises the hard work and achievements of Members of the Scottish Youth Parliament and their Support Workers.

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.